FaceBook reverts back to its previous TOS

Written by Geri D

Topics: Blogging

Apparently in the past couple of weeks FaceBook has changed its TOS in such a way that allows them to use your posted photos, videos and content you have posted in any way they want even if you have canceled your account. This step didn’t go over well with what seems to be a large portion of the FaceBook users, including some of my friends who contemplated removing all their photos and videos, and some who wanted to cancel their account altogether and then were concerned whether their personal/private media will be deleted too, or still “float” somewhere on FaceBook‘s servers.

Many of those concerned members have expressed their thoughts and criticism, and just a few minutes ago an announcement popped up on all user profiles with the following message:

Terms of Use Update

A couple of weeks ago, we posted an update to our Terms of Use that we hoped would clarify some parts of it for our users. Over the past couple of days, we have received a lot of questions and comments about these updated terms and what they mean for people and their information. Because of the feedback we received, we have decided to return to our previous Terms of Use while we resolve the issues that people have raised.

Personally I wonder what does “…while we resolve the issues that people have raised.” means. Is it “until we find a way to grab your media in a way our lawyers claim is legal?” or is this a “no worries folks, we wont snag your photos away from you” kind of a message?

1 Comment Comments For This Post I'd Love to Hear Yours!

  1. carlie says:

    See, I knew me not having a Facebook account would eventually pay off. ;)

Leave a Comment Here's Your Chance to Be Heard!